Sunday, May 16, 2010

sometimes you have just have to try something stupid. something so ridiculous, that most people wouldn't believe it's possible.

no, not this. i'll leave that to someone else. no, instead, i chose this. why? probably because i'm an idiot. why not try something that requires you to sign a waiver that mentions the possibility of death 4 times? and, no - i did not opt for the ever-popular relay (seriously, try to find 4 other tortured souls such as myself?), or the measly half-marathon. marathon - why bother? let's make it an ultra-marathon.

ultra, huh? so, have you ever run further than one marathon before. oh, no - of course not, but i have run a marathon. and, they do have a 50 K(ilometer) race. that's only 5 miles further than the marathon. seems like a reasonable way to wade out into the world of ultrarunning.

f**k that. grit your teeth and give it hell. i signed up for the 50 mile race. that's nearly twice the distance i've ever run before. not only that, but it's more than i run most weeks.

but here's the messed up part:

i'm gonna do it again. just wait and see.